Day 5 Of my challenge to make a patchwork quilt in 7 days

bird_house blockToday I managed to get quite a lot done, I sewed the pieces for the bird house block I didn’t sew the circle for the hole yet, I plan to applique that on later.

I cut out the pieces for the four square blocks.

I thought that using the yellow from the beaks and a blue fabric (from an old sheet) would look nice, but when I tried them they looked completely wrong, the yellow was too bright. It is better  kept just for the beaks. I cut the rest of the squares from the checked shirt and think it looks much better with the blue.

I sewed all the blocks and joined the three blocks for the top row of the cushion cover, it’s starting to take shape. tomorrow I will sew the rest of the blocks together and cut out the backing. I will also add a border.

top three blocksThat will just leave the applique birdhouse hole, embroidering the legs on the birds and the quilting. I have been looking at some quilting methods and a lot of it is amazing and real y complicated looking. I am going to keep it simple and use a sewing machine so it shouldn’t take too long.

leave a comment and let me know what you think

Leave a comment