Day two Of my challenge to make a patchwork quilt in 7 days

image of planned bird theme quilt

My design

Day 2 tasks

  • create final design
  • cut out pieces

Today I worked out a design for my quilt and cut out some of the pieces.
As you can see I have based the design on my coffee mug, (see day one)

I am planning to use the quilt as either a cushion cover or a table center piece. The quilt size will be 18 inches by 18 inches.

The piece will have nine blocks with a bird in each of the corner blocks and a bird house in the centre block. I have kept to squares and triangles in my design so that all edges should fit together easily.

What do you think?

Tomorrow. I will finish cutting out the pieces and start putting it together

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teje
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 07:06:49

    Hi Fiona! You are in the beginning of an exiting journey! You’ll have so much fun creating and discovering etc. My quilting journey began with men’s shirts. They have so wonderful fabrics that I wanted to make a quilt. Now I have been quilting several years and just finished one quilt with hb’s shirts and the second one is wip (work in process). When I started blogging I was so out of these ‘words’! Happy sewing! x Teje

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Patchwork Quilt by Valerie Flournoy | The Children's Librarian

Leave a comment